Mandurah Board Riders - Junior Comp #1



Sunday the 2nd of November saw the first event in a series of six summer surfing contests for the Mandurah Board riders Junior club held at Pyramids beach south of Mandurah.

Now with over 80 club members and nearly all of them rocking up to compete it was a fair effort to control that many kids as they took to the water to compete in what is shaping up to be a highly competitive summer series.

Conditions were small but perfect for the young ones to compete in, as we set up the contest venue over two banks on the beach and split the contest into these areas to move through the volume of competitors in a timely fashion.



For the first time ever Mandurah Board riders have seen over 25 girls join the club which is an encouraging sign to see where the club is at and the future is looking strong as we celebrate our 35th year of competitive surfing in the Peel Region.

Taking out the first ever 8 under girls division in her first ever surfing contest was Caitlin Doris, this is a giant effort considering that Caitlin has only just taken up the sport and she had some amazing rides from out the back all the way to the beach proving that winners are grinners as she didn’t even realise that it was a competition. Instead was just happy being out there having fun and making new friends. Maukenzie Millar finished second ahead of Jayda Corry and Lani Daniels in 3rd and 4th respectively.

 Brian Williams – Club President would like to thank all the parents that offered to assist with Judging and running the contest as it is their efforts that make it an enjoyable day for all the kids to compete.

Brian was stoked with the outcome and even though it is a long day on the beach and an early start for competitors and parents alike. He was extremely happy to see the amount of new members down on the beach having fun and enjoying the healthy competition.

 The Under 16 and Under 14 boys look like they are going to be a highly competitive division this year, as we saw young Aidan Flynn clench the victory over Jess Williams in the Under 14 boys with a massive snap at the end of the heat to take the win. And Jarrad Collier was surfing fast and fluent on the left handers to take the victory in the under 16’s Final.


The two highly sort after “Little Ripper Awards” were won by two very deserving club members in Anthony Eppen who surfed very well in the Under 8 boys division all day and Lexis Black who for a first time competitor did so well in the under 12 Girls division. Both took home a Star Surf and Skate gift voucher for their fantastic efforts in competing on the day.

 We hope to continue the run of great events as we look to our next competition being held on the 16th of November meeting at Pyramids at 0700 sharp again no late entry’s will be accepted.

A lot of our Grommets will be competing in Perth at the Wahoo Junior Surf event at Trigg point this coming weekend. The state contest will be held over two days against the best junior surfers in the state. We wish all our members competing the best of luck and hope they have a great time competing.


Results for the 1st MBR summer series event were as follows:


Under 8 Boys

1. Maverick Wilson

2. Sunny Higgins

3. Sam Baker

4. Harry Jenkins

Under 8 Girls

1. Caitlin Dorris

2. Maukenzie Millar

3. Jayda Corry

4. Lani Daniel

Under 10 Boys

1. Toby Jenkins

2. Brock Launders

3. Tex Macpherson

4. Koby Vollaprecht

Under 10 Girls

1. Olivia Allen

2. Alysa Henderson



Under 12 Boys

1. Campbell Forrest

2. Rhys Flynn

3. Jamie Flynn

4. Corey Hill

Under 12 Girls

1. Denya Halden

2. Ruby Allen

3. Zali Corry

4. Ella Golding

Under 14 Boys

1. Aidan Flynn

2. Jess Williams

3. Baily Atchinson

4. Colby Millar

Under 14 Girls

1. Oli Mitton

2. Kyra Rutter

3. Catherine Hazlehurst

4. Alyza Diggins

Under 16 Boys

1. Jarrad Collier

2. Luka Stawell

3. Mathew Burton

4. Laken Robinson

Under 16 Girls

1. Sophie Ingeleden

2. Jaidey Booth

3. Maria Sullivan


Back to blog

Leave a comment

Please note, comments need to be approved before they are published.